The Sneaky Side of Complaining

I have known for years that complaining is draining, disempowering, and derailing. Now, I do believe that standing up for myself is crucial – but complaining is not.

Yet, now and again, I find myself sharing a bit of information to someone who can’t do anything about it. Like today, it’s snowing pretty hard outside and it will take more time to get home, but what’s the benefit of my stating the obvious to someone who cannot control the weather or the traffic?

In the moment, I feel refreshed because now another person knows that I am less than happy about the situation. However, in the end – the best thing I can do is find even one good thing in a situation and build from there. Then I can share good stuff that encourages others and, in the process, myself.

Enjoy the day,
Anita

Leave a Reply

