Power and Influence

I chatted with a friend the other day. I couldn’t believe the positive change in him. Six months ago, he was going through a challenging time. He is clearly capable – well-educated and with considerable expertise. Yet even with his more than 20 years of work experience, he was floundering. The more we spoke, the more I sensed he was forcing himself into roles that sounded good, but were not a good fit for his style and personality. So whenever he interviewed for those jobs, he came across as inauthentic. I gently suggested this, but he bristled and told me I was wrong. Okay – at least I told him. He would have done the same for me.

So what changed in the last six months? My friend smiled and told me he had to be honest with himself and refuse to pretend to be what he was not and didn’t want to be. Once he did this (no easy feat), his interviews went much better and he received three offers.

His advice to me (and to anyone else who will listen): power and influence come from being yourself – if you have the courage to own it.

Have a great day,
Anita

Leave a Reply

