What’s Most Important: Be Right or Win?

I was chatting with a friend yesterday who is clearly struggling with a problem at the moment. I listened and listened more. In the middle of the conversation I asked him, “How important is it that you turn around this situation?” “Extremely,” he replied. “It’s everything!”

I think my friend was annoyed that I even asked. Undeterred, I continued. “What if the other person has the best solution?” Dead silence. My friend paused for a moment and confessed that he wouldn’t be all that happy with that. Then he laughed (thank goodness) and said, “What a choice – be saddled with the problem indefinitely or admit I could be wrong?!?”

This is a challenge I find myself and many others facing – be ready to listen and be open OR be right and risk actually not creating a win for you and the other person.

The choice is ours to make – over and over and over again.

Have a great day,
Anita

Leave a Reply

