Pay Attention

I called a friend yesterday to sing a slightly off-key rendition of “Happy Birthday”. Despite my lack of perfect pitch, she was delighted. She shared a bit of angst about people close to her plastering birthday messages across a variety of social media platforms – much to her dismay. The main point was not that she didn’t love to celebrate her birthday, but that her friends didn’t honor her wishes.

Good lesson for me – sometimes I want to give what I want to receive instead of providing what the receiver desires. This is a great incentive for me to really listen and share what will delight and surprise the other person.

Have a happy weekend,
Anita

Leave a Reply

