Interested in Success?

I was chatting with a friend this week who is in the middle of a job search. She was ranting a bit about the lack of responses that she received from her soon-to-be alma mater. When I asked what message she had sent out, she hesitated telling me. Perhaps because I review networking outreach email all the time at work and she knew I would give direct feedback.

When she shared the words we me, it was clear to both of us what was wrong. My dear friend was so focused on gaining knowledge, more contacts, and even job interviews that she had “forgotten” that there was an actual person on the other end of the email. The connection wasn’t made because the interest in the other individual was missing.

My reminder: If you are interested in success, start by showing genuine interest in the other person.

Have a great Thursday,
Anita

Leave a Reply

