A Winning Combo: Curiosity and Listening

I was chatting with a colleague at lunch today and we were exploring what makes for great conversations and enduring relationships. At first, we decided that curiosity was a powerful driver.

The more we discussed it, the more we realized that while curiosity is essential it’s incomplete. I personally recalled times when I was wildly curious to the point that I was constantly in my head coming up with the next “brilliant” question. There was no dialogue or deep connection there. At best, what I created was a monologue that was fun for me.

Listening was the missing component. When we listen appreciatively, a (dare I say) life-to-life connection is made and a foundation for a wonderful relationship.

Great lesson for me – curiosity plus listening yields lots of good stuff.

Have a great day,
Anita

Leave a Reply

