Autopilot Power

Last night, I was feeling like eating when I wasn’t really hungry. I know that many of you can relate to this. It was after 9 0’clock and as I was about to head to the kitchen, I stopped. It wasn’t one of those – call in the WILLPOWER moments. I actually had a great deal of resistance to getting a snack.

Then it dawned on me: my autopilot had kicked in. Now I usually think of my autopilot leading to things I don’t really want to do – like eating too many cookies. The autopilot at work last night was the result of a babystep I took back in November of 2012 when I decided not to eat after 9 p.m. (unless I was out at a special activity). It was so easy, that I was able to feel successful from the start.

So last night when I wanted to eat late, no willpower was required. The babystep which turned into a habit guided me with almost no effort.

If you want to make a change, take a teeny tiny step that you can absolutely do today. Do it again and again. Then when you need the positive power of your autopilot, it’s nearly guaranteed that you will win.

Have a great day,
Anita

Leave a Reply

