When To Say Yes to the Unknown

Over the weekend, I had an opportunity to chat with a friend I hadn’t spoken to in a long time. He has spent the last several years in working in marketing for a company that makes metal fasteners. It’s been a solid, steady, and secure job. So when he told me he was moving to a new city to take a job in an early stage company, I was really surprised. Not that he isn’t capable, I just thought he would be too risk averse to make such a move.

When I asked him why this role with so many new, unknown, and uncertain aspects to this move, he chuckled. “Anita,” he said. “Believe me, I have asked myself this question and so many more. I realized that you come to a point in life where the bigger question was, ‘why not?’ so I am jumping in with both feet based on lots of thought and analysis.”

Saying Yes to the unknown can be the absolutely the right thing to so – if you are ready, willing, and prepared. Do your homework first, draw conclusions, and decide from there.

Have a great week,
Anita

Leave a Reply

