The Unifying Power of Purpose

Periodically, I go back and review the purpose I wrote for myself when I was very early in my career. Here it is: To learn and share what I learn with others in ways that encourages them to realize their goals and dreams.

As I began to review my purpose statement this week, I was struck by how is it as relevant today as it was two decades ago. I can fulfill my purpose by singing a new song and then teaching it to my two-year old niece, mastering a new audio recording tool and using it for the podcast series I host and produce at work, or reading a book on negotiation and help a student or alum at Chicago Booth excel in his or her offer negotiation for a dream job.

While the specific goals and ways I actualize my purpose have changed over the years, how my purpose guides my direction is as powerful today as it was back then.

Have a great weekend,
Anita

Leave a Reply

