When is a Question Not a Question?

Yesterday’s Cubs traffic gave me a lot of time to think and self-reflect. Since the bus was doing the driving, I had to luxury of uninterrupted time for contemplation. I was revisiting a conversation I had with a long-time friend last week. He was going on and on about a challenge in his life.

I was getting really impatient since I heard the same story many times before – the names and places were different, but the underlying obstacle was the same. So I did what I often do and asked a question. Now, my question wasn’t a question at all. It was a (judgmental) comment not so cleverly disguised as a question. It went something like this: “Don’t you think that you might want to consider changing yourself a bit instead of demanding that the other person change first?” My friend was not amused, but he did appreciate my point.

That said, I learned that if I really want to make a statement I need to have the courage to just say it instead of hiding behind a question that is not really a question at all.

Have a great day,
Anita

Leave a Reply

