Even Samurais Need Encouragement

Over the holiday weekend, I was preparing for a presentation I am giving this week (and again next week). I was researching the life of a physician and samurai from the 13th century Japan. He was an amazingly courageous and purposeful individual. So I was a bit surprised (although I shouldn’t have been) to find that could get discouraged.

In fact, he received nearly 40 letters from his mentor strictly and compassionately encouraging him to continue to advance through challenges. This “news” actually encouraged me. If this powerful samurai needs this kind of support, who am I to begrudge myself the same.

Be kind to yourself and know that is takes real power to allow others to support you.

Have a great day,
Anita

Leave a Reply

