When the Competition is Stiff

I periodically am asked to be a judge in different business related competitions and when I read the nominations I am left in awe of the talents, accomplishments, and contributions of the nominees. I really stress over how to select the top three, and ultimately the top one, of such an amazing group

Recently, this made me think about how I make such decisions. I would say that it is three-fold. I look for:

  • Specificity in how the achievements are articulated (not just “what a great person”;
  • Clear, concrete, and relevant stories that illustrate the key points;
  • Deliberating conveying the same message throughout.

So what does this mean to you? Well, when you nominate someone – cover the three points above and you will increase your chances of nominating the winner – even among still competition.

Best regards,
Anita

Leave a Reply

