Secure, Safe, and Cared For?!?!

I recently received a phone call from a friend demanding that I provide something really BIG to him. I was actually surprised by the request and will admit that I felt more than a little uncomfortable.

When I asked a question, so I could better decide what to do – my friend asked if I have the guts to help him. Clearly, his response made we want to help a lot less.

Somehow I had the presence of mind to pause before saying something like “Are you kidding me?!?!” I realized that my friend was overwhelmed and frazzled. He felt insecure, unsafe, and (in many ways) all alone.

What I realized is that most people aren’t deliberately mean, aggressive, and operating from a sense of entitlement – they just want to be secure, safe, and cared for. We have the power to help if we can see beyond our own reaction.

Have a great weekend,
Anita

Leave a Reply

