Refuse to Underestimate Anyone

Last night, I was giving a lecture for a group on the northside of Chicago. It was quite stimulating and ended after a lively dialogue. As I was getting ready to leave, I spoke to a woman I have known for a long time, whose life has already spanned several decades.

Since it was a beautiful night, we decided to begin walking toward her home until the bus caught up with us or we found a cab.

I know that she loves to travel, so I asked her about her summer plans. It was no surprise when she told me that she was heading to Alaska in July.

My immediate assumed (not a good idea – you know what they say about people who assume) that she was taking a fabulous cruise – nice, relaxing, and “age appropriate”. When I asked about this, she chuckled and told me that we wasn’t going on a cruise. Instead, she proudly told me that she was hiking across Alaska. Who would have thought?!?!

My takeaway: refuse to underestimate anyone – and that includes you!

Thanks,
Anita

Leave a Reply

