Steer Clear of This Derailer

I was chatting with a friend over the weekend and she was exhausted, drained, and distraught. I was glad she trusted me to reach out. As we were talking,  it was clear she was waging a battle in each area of her life. No wonder she was so tired.

At first, I didn’t know how to assist her. I battle with my own challenges and wanted to just agree with her about how hard things can be. Yet, I knew that would do little to help either of us – beyond the immediate release from venting.

I really need to thank my friend for calling because she reminded me that while we need to fight for what’s important to us and overcome our weaknesses, sometimes what we really need to do is let go of the battle. I was once told that the more pressure you put on something, the more resistance you will receive – and when we let go, we are able to release the resistance and open up a pathway for many good things.

Of course, battle if you must – but at least take a step back and see if it is helping or derailing you.

Have a great week,
Anita

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

