The Humility Arrogance Paradox

I was once chatting with a mentor who chastised me for being sincerely, yet overly humble. I explained to him that it was my attempt to curb my arrogance. His reply really took me aback: “Anita, being overly humble is arrogant. Whenever you believe that you are either better or not as good as others, this is arrogance.”

I never thought it that way. He went on to tell me that at some level I am not superior or inferior to others. The best thing to do is treat everyone with dignity and respect.

I continue to work on this to this day.

Enjoy your weekend,
Anita

Leave a Reply

