Successful: Self-Absorbed or Engaged?

I was meeting with two people this week – both highly successful. That said, I left each meeting feeling very differently. The first person spent the entire time letting me know how clever, creative, and successful he is and topped off the monologue by asking me for something rather big (clearly expecting to me to say “YES”). The second meeting what quite the opposite.

My response to the two people was two ends of the spectrum In the first case, I declined, not because I couldn’t help him, but due to the fact that I felt like I was one of many. I didn’t feel that I even mattered as a person to him. The second case completely different, I felt that he cared about me and what I could do for him.

So always remember that how much people will assist you is largely depends on how you make them feel.

Have a great weekend,
Anita

Leave a Reply

