The Complain Drain

I was chatting with a friend the other day and he couldn’t stop complaining – about everything from work to the weather. If I had been able to “escape”, I would have – but we were sitting across from one another.

I think that what perturbed me is that I have a tendency to want to complain and it’s draining on two levels. First, it can suck the life out of the person who is sharing negative experiences with whomever will listen. Second, the “audience” for this negativity often wants to have nothing to do with complainer – and so in the process of complaining, you drain your opportunities, credibility, and goodwill.

So I challenge you (and myself) to find the good in people, situations, and organizations even if it’s not clear or obvious.

Have a great day,
Anita

Leave a Reply

