When Someone Won’t Help You

I was chatting with someone recently and she had been asking for help and not getting much assistance. As I asked her a few questions, two things emerged: 1. She asked for a lot from people who didn’t know her well and 2. When people offered her advice, she criticized their suggestions.

While it may seem pretty obvious why she didn’t receive help, many do follow her pattern – even if it’s more subtle than my friend’s. So the next time you don’t receive the support you want – ask yourself: “Am I asking for too much given the level of this relationship?” and “Am I expressing gratitude for what I was given (even if it was just the person’s time)?”

Have a great day,
Anita

Leave a Reply

