The Enthusiasm / Success Quotient

Several years ago, I was chatting with a woman I really respect. She had been in her field for a long time and yet her level of enthusiasm was just like she had started yesterday. I was curious how she maintained a high level of enthusiasm, why she kept learning, and how her commitment to her field was higher than when I first met her years before.

Her answer was simple. “Anita,” she told me. “I know that I need to be all in or I would cheating myself and the people with whom I work – and I use my curiosity as my foundation. With that, I am learning new things and am able to help others.”

To my friend, success was about caring about others and her work, finding things to expand her capacity, insights, and value to others, and to make what could seem old hat and boring come alive day after day. I learned a lot from my friend on that day which I use to even now.

Thanks, Barb.

Warmly,
Anita

Leave a Reply

