Find Your Success Threshold

I was chatting with a friend (let’s call her Jamie – not her name) last week and she was stressed about not having enough willpower. When I told her I don’t believe in willpower, Jamie looked stunned. It isn’t that I don’t believe it effort, work, and tenacity, it’s that I feel that finding your threshold beats willpower every time.

Here is my approach – when I have a goal, I start by finding an action that I can take – that is under my control and doesn’t stress me out. Each time I complete my task, I build up my confidence to succeed at it. In relatively short order, the action becomes a habit and willpower isn’t needed. This works for me and it could just work for you.

Something to consider.

Warmly,
Anita

Leave a Reply

