When Being Right is Wrong

I was listening to a program recently and the speaker talked about how being right can actually be a bad thing. My first reaction was “how could that be”? In a world where having the right idea, approach, or solution can lead to greater levels of success – it seemed the speaker made a mistake. That said, I realized if I stopped listened I might fall into the “needing to be right” trap.

So I listened (actually carefully) to the speaker. What he said, made a lot of sense to me.

Here’s what I learned:

  • Advice based on what you believe is right, even if well-intentioned, can derail a conversation and a whole relationship.
  • While being right may make you feel superior, at its core are arrogance and insecurity.
  • Be open to having your mind changed, not out of backing away – but out of incorporating new knowledge that could be useful.

The speaker left me with even more to contemplate – perhaps your mind will be led to deeper thinking on this topic, too.

Enjoy your day,
Anita

Leave a Reply

