Transform This Big Bogus Critic

Have you ever noticed that your biggest critic is the one that stares back at you in the mirror? I do. Even though I will ask for and receive direct and critical feedback, it’s rarely mean. The exception is the feedback I “share” with myself.

You may wonder why I accept such harsh words from myself when I wouldn’t stand for that from others? This is a question that I ask myself at times. What I’ve learned is that speaking to myself with empathy, kindness, and compassion (as I do with others), makes me receptive to the feedback, ideas, and suggestions I offer up. On top of that, I certainly deserve to be treated well, starting with how I treat myself.

So remember, while it’s fine to guide and even correct ourselves, do it with a positive and open heart and mind.

Warmly,
Anita

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.